Yard sales are a girl’s best friend

August 14, 2012 at 2:31 am 2 comments

So, I’ve been thinking about wedding decor for a while now, and it didn’t take me long to decide to go with the whole casual, country chic look.  For me, this means mason jars and other simple details.  I know that some are saying that the blue mason jar thing is “so last year,” but I just don’t care.  I’ve loved the look for years, and I’m using them at our wedding.  So there 🙂

I’ve searched the internet for blue mason jars and looked at antique/junk shops when I have the chance.  They are SO expensive in some places!  I swear, some people will pay anything. Not me!  I have a bad habit of wanting nice things but refusing to pay top dollar for them.  With our small wedding budget, we definitely can’t afford to pay $12 per mason jar…$2 per jar is much more in our price range.  I’ve found that if I’m patient, then I can get the blue mason jars I want at yard sales and estate sales – definitely worth the wait!

A little earlier in the summer, a friend and I went to a large community yard sale in our area.  It was seriously a yard-saler’s dream – park and walk to 5 or 6 different yard sales before driving to another street and starting all over again!  Amazing 🙂

Here’s what I found that day:

An old wooden box, a wooden organizer with a handle, 3 blue mason jars (small, medium, and large, $2 each), and an old milk bottle.  I think I spent about $16 on everything that day.  The plan is to use the glass pieces on the tables and use the wooden box and organizer in the reception area.  Pretty, and I’ve already used the largest mason jar and the milk bottle as vases for flowers that Ben surprises me with.  He’s pretty sweet like that 🙂

Do you all have any tips for finding hidden gems at yard sales?  I’d love to hear them!

Entry filed under: Wedding Decor, Wedding Planning, Yard Sales and Estate Sales. Tags: , , .

Isabella Claire So many wedding books, so little time!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ben Lundy  |  August 14, 2012 at 11:15 am

    How many blue mason jars do we need total? I think the low number of people/tables helps us too.

    Reply
    • 2. Blue Skies in June  |  August 14, 2012 at 1:28 pm

      Hi hun –
      You’re my first-ever comment! And I don’t think I need to purchase many more mason jars…Monica has a friend who loaned her the ones she used for Megan’s wedding and she mentioned that we could probably use those. We just need to clarify and get an official yes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


