So many wedding books, so little time!

August 22, 2012 at 2:12 am 2 comments

Seriously.  Have you looked been to a bookstore lately and seen how many wedding planning and wedding etiquette books there are out there?  Hundreds.  Thousands.  It’s a little overwhelming!  A few weeks after Ben and I got engaged, I decided it was time to start thinking about details and thought that purchasing a wedding book would be helpful.  So I went to Barnes & Noble after work with the intention of buying one.  Simple, right?

My wedding planning book must-have list included:

  • Easy to read (I’m talking bullet points, not lengthy paragraphs)
  • A detailed timeline of when to accomplish wedding items (when the heck are you supposed to mail save-the-dates?)
  • Helpful tips

Well let me start by saying that I plan admissions events for a university.  I’ve never planned a wedding before, but I have a good idea of where to start because it seems pretty simple.  Following the logic of how I plan my work events, I know to start with the big-ticket items first (date, venue, vendors, etc.) and leave the small details for later (decor, etc.).  So while I’m not a complete events novice, I still have A LOT to learn about weddings (hence the need for a book).  All this being said, I was at Barnes & Noble for 2 and 1/2 hours!!

I had no idea what I was in for – so many of the books seemed incredibly simplistic.  Not helpful at all, really.  Think I’m being harsh?  It took me going through 4 or 5 books before I even found a wedding planning timeline, and I thought that was something pretty basic that all the books would include.  Obviously my expectations were a tad high.  Oops.

So I bought a Frappuccino and grabbed a table and a big stack of books.  In general I found a majority of them to be a little too “dated,” like I was planning a wedding in the 80’s instead of 2012, and many were too formal for the casual feel we’re after.  Some books spent as many as 30 pages on how to pick a venue.  Is that really necessary?

Anyway, I decided on a book called Wedding Planning Made Easy Featuring DIY and Green Wedding Tips from WedSpace.com by Elizabeth and Alex Lluch.  Right away I noticed that it featured an extensive timeline (awesome) and was super easy to read.  I love that it includes great charts for making budgets as well as things I never would have DREAMED I would need, like how to address invitations (with multiple examples) and what to pack for the honeymoon.  Just going through the timeline gave Ben and I ideas of things we hadn’t considered yet.  We definitely consider it a good investment for the $12 (or so) that I spent.

Am I the only one out there who had this experience with wedding planning books?  And have any of you found any helpful wedding books you can recommend?  I’d love to hear about your experiences (and your book recommendations)!

 

Entry filed under: Wedding Planning. Tags: , , .

Yard sales are a girl’s best friend Find your inspiration on Pinterest

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rosanne  |  September 6, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    I find great ideas from reading Bride magazine as well. Awesome find!

    Reply
  • 2. Rosanne  |  September 6, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    I find a lot of inspiration from Brides magazine for DIY stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


