Baby Elephants!

January 5, 2013 at 7:29 pm Leave a comment

No, this isn’t a blog entry about going to the zoo 🙂  Even though I haven’t blogged in a few months, I did find time for a little sewing and crafting.  And during that time I made a baby quilt that I absolutely LOVE for my brother and his wife!  They are expecting a baby boy in January and won’t be traveling at Christmas, so we exchanged presents at Thanksgiving.  I was pretty excited to give them this baby quilt.  And here’s where the baby elephants reference starts to make sense:

Jason1Elephant

I think I’m a bit obsessed with this fabric.  It’s called Karma Baby by Northcott (isn’t that the most perfect name?) and comes in a pink and green scheme called Pinkle and this blue and green scheme is called Sweet Pea.  I used a kit from my favorite quilt shop, Patchwork Plus, and tweaked it a little to get the look I wanted.

Zoom_Focus Fabric

It’s a pretty simple design, but the fabric is the star here…it’s pretty stinking adorable.  The kit came with a fabric panel of the little birds, elephants, and paisley swirls.  Each had a border, and each border was a little different in size, so I had to cut everything out, size it, and sew another border around it.  It was simple piecing, and I rocked out to some music while I sewed.

Backing_Binding shot

After finishing the quilt top, I put together my batting and backing like usual.  I used a blue paisley fabric for the backing, the same striped fabric for the binding as I used for the inner border (both from the Karma Baby line), and quilted everything simply by “stitching in the ditch” along the many borders.

My brother wants to use it as a wall hanging so the baby doesn’t mess it up – I desperately want them to use it all the time!  I want the quilt to be used and loved by my nephew – if that means it becomes a little worn and tattered, that’s all right by me 🙂

So what do you think?  Quilters of the world – how do you feel about your quilting masterpieces being used by their owners?  Priceless masterpieces or wearable/usable art?

Entry filed under: DIY Projects, Quilts. Tags: , .

Runner FRENZY! After a little break, I’m back!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


