Frogs and snails and puppy-dogs’ tails

December 22, 2013 at 8:03 pm 2 comments

Ok, well there aren’t actually any puppy-dogs’ tails in this post, but there are plenty of frogs and snails!

Green, blue and gray baby quilt

This is a baby quilt I made for my sweet little baby nephew – it was a simple design and it came together pretty quickly!  I used part of Michael Miller’s Backyard Baby fabric collection, along with a few other coordinating fabrics my local quilt shop had on hand.  I used the Swirly Girls Fat Quarter Four Patch quilt (from their Think Fast! book) as my jumping off point and kinda tweaked the cut sizes and dimensions to make a baby quilt.

I think my favorite part is the fabric – I just LOVE the little snakes and snails and bugs crawling all over – perfect for a little boy.  Here’s a close-up on the quilt fabric, please forgive my dark chalk quilting lines:

Close-up

Personally, I’m not a fan of baby quilts with “baby themes” (like little diaper pins and bottles all over them) because I want the baby to use and love the quilt well into their toddler and elementary school years.  I tend to go with themes that will transition well into older years, like dinosaurs, cars and trucks, animals, etc.

Here’s one final look at the quit before I sign off…isn’t the quilt that much cuter with a sweet baby on it?!  My nephew’s such a little doll 🙂

Cuter with a baby

Entry filed under: Baby quilt, Quilts. Tags: , .

Simple Yet Beautiful Table Decor Wedding favors and other small details

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. RodimusBen  |  January 15, 2014 at 4:09 pm

    Awesome quilt. Someone dropped a baby on it though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


